Our Ancestors Struggled and Faught For Our Right To Vote – Don’t Make Their Sacrifice In Vain

How many of us have been offended at one point or another? Yes? Yes, I see those hands! Aye, so have I.

It’s funny though. Sometimes people offend you without directly meaning to. I can handle someone being rude to me straight off, but when someone comes at me quietly and unnoticed and offends me (even without meaning to) I find it a little harder to take.

I’m bringing this up today because I posted something political on FB, and in response a family member implied that I was an idiot. They didn’t mean to, I’m sure. They’ve always been really supportive, but by saying that anyone who votes against their candidate is an idiot, they’ve undoubtedly labeled me an idiot. Even though I’m sure they didn’t mean to offend me, it sort of did. I’m well educated, reasonably aware, my opinion matters, and my vote counts! I want them to vote for whichever candidate they think is the best candidate for America… Why is that same respect not shared? Why is there a double standard here? Just because someone’s voting for a candidate that I think should be in prison doesn’t mean I think they’re an idiot. I welcome them to have their own opinions. But I digress…

Now I don’t post on Facebook much about my political preferences, but for the sake of working out some confusion, I did post something today on FB about voting. Now I won’t be voting for Hillary Clinton. Don’t debate me on this – I just won’t be. I don’t like Donald Trump, but he will be the candidate that I vote for in the 2016 elections. Do I agree with some of the things he says? No, but I agree even less with Hillary and what she stands for. So naturally I will vote for the lesser of two evils.

I established this on FB, and not to my surprise, people had opinions. I didn’t post it to tell people not to vote for Hillary, because quite frankly I just want people to vote and make it a point to get out and vote. I understand and appreciate that not everyone agrees with me – that’s what makes this country part of what it is, disagreeing in a respectful way. Anyway, back to the emotions at hand…

I posted this charge to get people to quit with the #Nevertrump thing. I can’t disagree more. I understand you don’t like him, but if you don’t want Hillary to be president, then Trump is honestly the only option you have. I have so many people talking about writing-in this election, which is just fine. You exercise your vote to write-in. But understand that by writing in you are essentially electing Hillary Clinton for president. You just are! You don’t here Bernie Sanders supporters saying #NeverHillary. That’s because they are united for their cause. If you’re a Republican or an Independent that leans right, and you’re not going to vote, or you’re going to write-in then you’re not going to get what you want either way.

I’m not telling you to vote for Donald Trump. I’m not telling you who to vote for. I’m just explaining something here – A house divided cannot stand.

It’s no longer about Marco Rubio or Ted Cruz, and it’s certainly not about Bernie Sanders anymore. It’s about Donald Trump, and Hilary Clinton, and unfortunately you have to choose between these two. So make your choice. If you’re a nevertrumper then you are voting for Hillary, and if you don’t want Hillary elected then you need to vote for Trump.

I can tell you one thing, the Democrats are definitely not having division in their votes. All of the Bernie supporters will vote for Hillary, so why aren’t the Rubio and Cruz supporters voting for Trump?

Get it together! Go out and register to vote. If you’re reading this you have a computer. Register right now to vote, and come election time (no matter who you vote for) Go out and vote for whomever you think is the right choice.

It’s really very sad that years ago Black people and then Women had to fight for the right to vote, but now you can hardly convince people to exercise their right.

I don’t care what your political opinions are (and respect me enough to allow me my own opinions) but if you don’t vote because you think your vote doesn’t matter, or worse – you’re too lazy to vote, then you, quite frankly, are an idiot.

Don’t be an idiot: go vote.

Anything off the trolley?

